Our Mission

The Spartanburg SWCD's mission is to promote the wise and responsible use of our natural resources through education, demonstration, and technical services for the benefit of all citizens of Spartanburg County.


About Spartanburg Soil and Water Conservation District


The Spartanburg Soil and Water Conservation District was formed in 1937 under provision of the South Carolina Conservation Districts Law. Read more below for additional information about the history of soil and water conservation in Spartanburg County.


The Spartanburg Soil and Water Conservation District is a subdivision of state government under the local control of a five-member Board of Commissioners. Three commissioners are elected in the general election and two are appointed by the SC Department of Natural Resources. These commissioners serve without pay and volunteer their time and expertise toward helping conserve and improve our natural resources.


Commissioners direct the efforts of conservation professionals from the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service and the conservation districts division of the SC Department of Natural Resources. The conservation district works with these agencies to ensure that staff time is directed to local priorities.


Click here for a copy of the SWCD Commissioner Handbook!!!

Affiliate Members

Partners & Helpful Links

Our History

©2016 Spartanburg SWCD.

Information within this site is subject to change.

Website designed and built by

Simple Solutions and Support


Ronnie Bullard, Chairman

Nigel Cox, Vice-Chairman

Jack Turner, Sec./Treas.

Bill Bledsoe

Gary Sayre

District Staff:

Bonnie Wines, District Coordinator

Henry Gramling, Equipment Mgr

NRCS Staff:

Matt Barrington,

District Conservationist

For questions or comments concerning this website, please contact the web master HERE.